The Friendly Confines By Tom Allman Jr.

I got a postcard from myself yesterday, postmarked from Twenty-Three years in the future. On the front was a picture of New Wrigley Field……

My weary eyes fluttered open, I could see Joe Jr. He’d hardly left my side in the last week. My kith and kin had all come and gone, saying goodbye to a skeleton that used to be me.

Joe Junior and I had butted heads after his mom had left. I surprised him one day at college and took him to a Cubs game. Two men, at the Friendly Confines, sharing a few beers and few laughs.

“Remember Old Wrigley in May,” I rasped. “Yeah Dad, I do,” his voice cracking. “I’m taking the boys on Tuesday wanna go?”
“Yeah I do Joe.”

The back of the postcard said, “Screw work, take Junior to a ball game.”

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

9 Comments

Filed under Tom Allman

9 responses to “The Friendly Confines By Tom Allman Jr.

  1. Ha ha … I love the final line. I don’t know what else to write except that I liked this story.

  2. Different style from the last couple you’ve done, but I really like it. :)

  3. guy

    This one reminds me of my father, who still follows the Cubs. I used to go the games to keep him company. What’s sad is that he no longer wants to go.

  4. Al McDermid

    Great–practically a whole life in a moment.

    I’m fascinated with the idea of my communicating with with my younger self, so I really enjoyed this (and surprised I didn’t think of it). Concur on the last line as well.

  5. I love the idea of sending postcards to myself from the future. If only I could do it…I’d be so much wiser, I hope!

  6. So telling of the father/son relationship and how it changes over time. Really like the way you came at this.

  7. laradunning

    You conveyed alot about Joe in such a short time. I’m impressed.

  8. Very nice, love the way you get at the father-son relationship. Peace…

  9. Pingback: Week #28 – the postcard | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a comment