Flush by Matt Potter

“Your gums will be red raw and a perfect entry point for HIV,” she said. “Never clean your teeth beforehand if you’re going to suck cock.”

I shrank into the kitchen chair. It was 1989. I was seventeen. Two minutes earlier I’d told her I thought I was gay.

“Are you fucking anyone, Dudley?”

She was my mother. And unfortunately, a sexual health nurse.

“Are you a bottom or a top?”

My eyes stared blankly and my lips clamped shut, stilling the screaming voice inside.

“First impressions really count. You need to make up your mind.”

I shifted in the chair. My mother’s favourite child-rearing mantra – I can talk to my children about anything – was swallowing me whole.

“No one likes an indecisive sexual partner.”

Oh, I definitely knew I was gay, but my sexual experience amounted to nothing beyond constant furious masturbation and watching men’s gymnastics on television. In practical terms, I didn’t know one end of a hard-on from another.

“It’s a big world out there, and there are plenty of cute, well-hung men just waiting to get into your trousers, sweetie.”

She had never called me sweetie before.

She hummed. “Maybe I should give you my old dildo to practice with.”

I stood up. I left the room. I walked outside and down the driveway and to my best friend Daren’s house. And vowed to learn all I could about menopause, and assault her with the hair-raising facts just after her first hot flush.

Return to This Week’s Flash

14 Comments

Filed under Matt Potter

14 responses to “Flush by Matt Potter

  1. Oh, how very wince-inducing.

    Well done!

  2. Al McDermid

    I thought ‘red meat’ would result in some horror, but this is horrific. And so funny; ‘well-hung men’ and ‘sweetie’ form the mouth of one’s mother is just too much. Really great story.

  3. I think the mother will live in my nightmares. *shudders*
    I hope those hot flashes come really soon!

  4. Oh goddess, this is fabulous. What a trip of a mother — not sure what’s more dangerous, mothers who keep their kids in ignorance or HER?! Peace…

  5. Well written with a lot of “raw truth” hitting us in the face. That Mom is some piece of work (meat?) but she was believable, and so was the son. I like this story, it smacks of courage

  6. Pingback: Wk #11 – Red Meat « 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

