What a Delicious Way to Die by Doug Bond

Eating 1,400 Slim Jims—can kill you. Duh!

(But what a delicious way to die.)

Even so, I made sure to stop at 1,399 and feeling the need for a
little air, hit the sidewalk for some up-tempo hoofing.

Just off Angus Street I got abducted by a cabal of long bearded skinny
guys. They screamed at me, “What’s the sodium count Kenneth?”

I said “Who’s Kenneth?”

One of them said “Oops.”

They drove me around for hours anyway, until one of them called me
“Gurudas” and knocked me out. When I came around I was alone and still
stunned. It was dark and as I groped around I realized I was in a low
cage, surrounded by narrow spaced bars and then my finger struck
something, a crudely fashioned tray. It was filled with little bowls
of salad bar stuff, radical shit: sprouts, sliced roots, some damp
ribbon-like leaves that smelled of the sea and a cup of tepid liquid
with twigs floating around.

I was simultaneously repulsed by and attracted to the strange tactile
sensations which met my groping fingers and then in time curiously, my
tongue. Hunger came over me suddenly, voraciously.

Crouched over on all fours in the dark, I reached out and pawed for
the tray. My mouth overflowing with a tangle of sprouts, I crunched
down, slowly at first and then rhythmically, as if in time to the
beating of my anxious heart until hungry no more, I finally,
painlessly, passed a gas wicked enough to burn away all that enclosed
me and was free again at last.

Return to This Week’s Flash

3 Comments

Filed under Doug Bond

3 responses to “What a Delicious Way to Die by Doug Bond

  1. I’m not quite sure what happened here, but the ending was hilarious! Thanks for the laugh. :)

  2. snort.

    ‘salad bar shit, radical stuff” really made me laugh. Great voice in this one. peace…

  3. Pingback: Wk #11 – Red Meat « 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

