Roadkill by Shelagh Power-Chopra

When I hit the dog, Abe screamed like one of those girls in a Japanese horror movie–a shrill wail that went right through my skin. I didn’t feel much as I got out of the car–I was more annoyed at the scream, the icy air around us and our eventual destination–his parents, the club, small talk, all that drunken insignia. I watched him as he examined the dog, patting its stomach, searching for signs of life. The dog was certainly dead, one ear was torn off and you couldn’t make out much its face; it looked like one of those old family photos where there’s something blurry in the background, something or someone you can’t really make out. I just couldn’t associate any feelings or memories with the dog, as I had never had a pet as a child. Dogs were like overgrown rats; I was always irritated when people spoke endearingly of them as if their own spouses had been regulated to sheds while animal and owner trolled the streets. “It’s dead,” was all I said but Abe frowned and tugged at my sleeve. I looked at him, at his ridiculous black trench coat and pulled it off his back and threw it over the dog–but you could still see it’s feet, isolated as if in mid run. Then, I felt a sharp pain in my stomach, a swift jab as if the nasty, little world had come rushing right in.

Return to This Week’s Flash

4 Comments

Filed under Shelagh Power-Chopra

4 responses to “Roadkill by Shelagh Power-Chopra

  1. great job on transforming indifference to pain. wonderful last line. peace…

  2. I can’t say it better than Linda. The transition was wonderful.

  3. Pingback: Week #18 – Lucky Number « 52|250 A Year of Flash

  4. I love this piece, Shelagh. The description of the dog as a blurry old photograph is wonderful, and the last line in managed beautifully.

Leave a Reply

