Movie Night by Robert Vaughan

I bought us a subscription to Netflix. It was a great bonding premise, one of the rare insightful ideas my brother suggested. That way even though my lover lived on the opposite coast, Tony and I could stream movies simultaneously in our separate living rooms.

At first it was a little tough to find the time. An entire month flew by before we decided to try Wednesdays as our movie night. The first couple movies went great, well, sort of. I think he dozed during Moonstruck. Tony’s three hours ahead of me, so, I wasn’t too miffed.

Plus, Tony liked to comment during the movie. Said things like, “Why is she wearing lipstick at the gym?” or “A guy would never say that.” I tried to ignore him, but it was annoying.

Then we watched one of my favorite movies, Prince of Tides. I’d seen it gazillion times. And he wouldn’t shut up. I asked him to pause so we could talk. He just wanted to stop watching all together.

“It’s boring,” he complained.

I ignored him. “It’s like when I came to your family reunion last summer. I went, because you wanted me to.”

Tony said, “What’s that supposed to mean?”

“It’s called compromising. I wanted to share one of the best movies of all time with you. The least you could do is pretend you’re enjoying it.”

There was a long pause. “This is stupid. I don’t even like movies.”

“Well, I don’t like family reunions.”

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

16 Comments

Filed under Robert Vaughan

16 responses to “Movie Night by Robert Vaughan

  1. the strain of long distance, ah… here are good intentions, yearning, and conflict. well written with plenty of subtext.

  2. I like this! How it’s titled “Movie Night” and the characters’ drama is like their own little movie. I love the way they are handling their long distance by having movie night and how they are trying to make it work. Great idea about movie night long distance!

    This part says so much: “It’s called compromising … The least you could do is pretend you’re enjoying it.” Is compromising a pretending? Hmmm

  3. Tom

    I enjoyed this story, like a slice of real life, yet I know it’s fiction. Very relatable. Nice job!

  4. I don’t think the long distance in the relationship is just geographical. Nicely done.

  5. Yasmine

    Been here, done that! Not the movie night, per se, but the long distance romance thing, more than once. And you nail just the onset here, of exploring differences, and pathos, and ultimately, that sadness of it not working out (just hinted at, so well, here).

  6. loved this story, and the turns it takes. great line: “It’s called compromising.” also, i went to look up the german title of t”Prince of Tides”. i saw that one, once, with a friend, in a strange atmosphere. maybe it’s a film to watch alone, i thought later.

  7. Shari

    You have an uncanny knack of creating these sharp scenes that are rife with life. I’m not sure how you do it. The art of practice seems a solution. In any case, I am an admirer.

  8. These two are like frick and frack. Def brothers, all the way. I love the failed attempt at bonding over a great distance. Which, is brotherhood, after all, right? A great distance…
    No lipstick… guys don’t say…
    Good story and funny!

  9. Thanks everyone! I appreciate your comments!

  10. This made me smile, the scenario so familiar. Compromising as pretending to bend to the other whims? Not with brothers. Or with siblings of any stripe. Deft writing, too. Peace…

  11. Alexandra Pereira

    I agree with many of the comments here… Really liked this story and how it ‘lead’ me… Nicely written. :-)

  12. Al McDermid

    ‘Sleepless in Seattle’ this is not! I really feel for the narrator, especially after going to someone else family reunion! Great story.

  13. Pingback: Week #38 – Long distance | 52|250 A Year of Flash

  14. Extremely well done, Robert. It’s precise and dependent upon all the little details to draw the relationship. Nice!

  15. this made me laugh. such a global story and yet american too. you’re so…modern and tuned in. (i’m sighing now, then i’ll look for “prince of tides” which i haven’t even seen once.) great story, attractive pacing, speed, dialog.

  16. Pingback: March Madness « One Writer's Life

Leave a Reply

