Vagabond by Maude Larke

The highway has changed quite a bit since last I travelled it; it cuts through a greener, shaggier land than I remembered. But you, friend, haven’t changed at all. You picked me up, thumbing, off the exhaust-choked asphalt edge in the same old car you had let me out of two years ago at my home (you thought), the house I had left wordlessly. You came to quite a sudden halt; you stared, rather aghast, as I slid into the low seat; you asked where I was heading; I answered “yes.” You moved the stick shift with a startled hand and we sailed down the highway. And no one seeing us together would have known if you were drifting with me or I was coming home with you. But, you see, we are both drifters; today we just thought to drift together once more for a change, for a while.

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

13 Comments

Filed under Maude Larke

13 responses to “Vagabond by Maude Larke

  1. You’ve brought a background into this that is only hinted at, remains mysterious, and keeps us focused on the movement of the present.

  2. Maude Larke

    Yes, Susan, I tend to be oblique in my flash and poetry. Overly so?

  3. Oh Maude, what a sweet and mysterious song you have here. I love it, so sad and travelling and connected, if only for a moment.

  4. Mysterious and lovely, I want to drift along with these two longer. Peace…

  5. Michael

    This is a depiction of reality. Nicely perceived and depicted. I love the build up to this exquisite ending: “And no one seeing us together would have known if you were drifting with me or I was coming home with you. But, you see, we are both drifters; today we just thought to drift together once more for a change, for a while.” A nice slice of humanity. Good write.

  6. this is a little gem. nice.

  7. Has a nice slice of reality about it, but is captivating in its particular “unknowns.” I enjoyed the allure and the mysteries. I enjoyed the use of “white space,” how you trust to the reader to fill details in.

    • Maude Larke

      Thank you, Robert. “Trusting the reader” has often been a weak point for me. It’s good to know that I’m “getting over it”.

  8. Pingback: Week #40 – The money’s gone | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

