Rivals by Al McDermid

The lock clicked and I slipped easily into the office, immediately sensing that something was off. Perfume, the scent too strong to have been left over since quitting time. I remained still, but sensed no one. I crossed the room to the painting that concealed the safe, clicked the hidden button, but then my heart sank. The safe was unlocked. I opened it and shined my light inside to find it was mostly empty.

Before this set back could register, the lights came on. I swung around and was simultaneously relieved and annoyed when I saw who it was.

“Vespa,” I hissed. “What are you doing here?”

“Same as you apparently,” she said. “To no avail, I should add.”

“Gone is it? Any ideas?”

“My first guess was you, so now I don’t know.”

“You don’t look dressed for this work,” I said, taking in her gown, a black silk number with a swooping neckline. “Is it new?”

“Like it?” she asked.

“Very becoming, but the perfume is sloppy. I thought I taught you better than that?”

“What you taught me was ‘easy in, easy out’,” she said. “I got myself invited to a party two floors up. I can explain being here. ”

“And I can’t,” I said, heading for the door.

“Let me check.” She looked into the hall, and then said, “Okay, clear.”

“Thanks, Love,” I said, slipping past her.

“Anytime, Dad,” she said. “I’ll stop by tomorrow.”

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

7 Comments

Filed under Al McDermid

7 responses to “Rivals by Al McDermid

  1. Nice approach to the theme. Makes you wonder where the money went. so many hands after the same loot.

  2. I like how you’ve created tension, brought it to climax, then left some real questions about the money behind while still creating the relationship of the characters. Nicely done, Al.

  3. It is nice to see a nice father/daugher relationship built on common interests. The easy give and take of teacher and student. Love the father’s advice as to the perfume being sloppy. The ending was a complete surprise. I’m not sure whether the daughter took the money or not. I like the mystery. Doris

  4. clever. you really caught me off guard.

  5. Kelly

    ahh, families. maybe there’s another sibling?

  6. Family dynamics at their finest with major surprises in store.

  7. Pingback: Week #40 – The money’s gone | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

