If I had a little money by Alexandra Pereira

“Money, money, money… must be funny… in the rich man’s world
Money, money, money… always sunny… in the rich man’s world
Aha-ahaaa… all the things I could do… if I had a little money —”

“Jason! Can’t you knock!?” I could, but I didn’t feel like it. She wouldn’t have heard me anyway with the music so loud.

“What do you want?”

“Abba again?” I chuckled, as she lowered the volume. “You just love them, don’t you?”

“Got a problem with that?”

“No, just that they’re ancient.”

“So are you.” She looked at me with a sudden tenderness in her voice.

“Ah… I need… I need a little money, sis.”

“Again?”

I looked at her with a half embarrassed, half begging and all hopeful face.

“I haven’t babysat in over a month,” she informed me, “and you haven’t paid me back from last time.”

“I know. I’ll have the money by next week. I promise.”

She walked over to the bookcase. “You’re lucky I don’t spend all I make.”

“I know”

She reached for the top shelf. “You’ll hit the jackpot one day, Jason, I know it!” My poor little sis. So confident in me. “And we’ll be rich and buy and do all those things we want!”

She opened Abba Gold: The Complete Story. Her mouth dropped and her eyes expanded like bubblegum.

“The money’s gone!”

“I know” I said to myself. Darn. I thought she had another hiding place.

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

5 Comments

Filed under Alexandra Pereira

5 responses to “If I had a little money by Alexandra Pereira

  1. Nicely done, the character portrayal beneath the words.

  2. Alexandra Pereira

    Thanks for reading, Susan. Appreciate your feedback. :-)

  3. Great use of dialogue to reveal character. Well done!

  4. Alexandra Pereira

    Thanks, Robert! I really enjoy writing dialogue… and revealing characers that way! I’m glad this little story did just that. :-)

  5. Pingback: Week #40 – The money’s gone | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

