Sunday Supper by Joanne Jagoda

If I get dressed in the bathroom, maybe mama won’t see the finger marks turning purple and green. Lord, they make me feel sick.

After he forced me I told him we were done and he started beggin …“ It was the whiskey Del, I’m sorry.. I won’t force you no more. ‘Ya got to believe me.” I love Billy but he can be a brute.

Mama invited him to Sunday supper. She thinks he’s something ‘cause he sells cars at the Auto Mart. The fried chicken smell and the apple pies are makin’ me sick. I’m afraid Grandma’s going to see right through Billy but I can’t give him up. He’s like a drug.

The Baxter women are cursed with a third eye. Mama has it and I reckon I’ve got it. You can see the good and bad in people down to their bones and sinew, into their core. Grandma knew my daddy was a no good bum when he rang the bell selling brushes and took mama away. When she came home, she was pregnant with me.

The screen door slams and Billy walks in like he’s some celebrity just ‘cause he’s movie star handsome. I know he’s trying to impress them, all cleaned up in his white shirt and best blue jeans.

Grandma grips his hand hard. She stares at him with her evil eye, drops the bowl with the peas she’s shelling, and they skitter everywhere. Billy starts to sweat and runs out the door.

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

7 Comments

Filed under Joanne Jagoda

7 responses to “Sunday Supper by Joanne Jagoda

  1. Barbara Lucy Hosken

    It’s sad and strange simultaneously. I’m glad that Granny gave him his come-uppance!

  2. How I love this! So many things I like about this! Great storytelling here!

    ” She thinks he’s something ‘cause he sells cars at the Auto Mart. ”

    “The Baxter women are cursed with a third eye.”

    “Grandma knew my daddy was a no good bum when he rang the bell selling brushes and took mama away. When she came home, she was pregnant with me.”

    Wonderful lines, wonderful story!

  3. Melissa

    The voice in this story makes me want more and more. The granny should have a whole novel about her and her third eye!!

    I love this line: Grandma knew my daddy was a no good bum when he rang the bell selling brushes and took mama away. When she came home, she was pregnant with me.

  4. Ditto on the great language. A man “like a drug”! I love the opening. “If I get dressed in the bathroom, maybe mama won’t see the finger marks turning purple and green.”
    Bravo!

  5. What a cast of characters here!

  6. Pingback: Week #43 – To the core | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

