Three of Four by Michelle Elvy

When Great-Grandpa Harold told me that eating the whole apple to the core and even past it, seeds and all, would make me live forever, I believed him. He was living proof, after all. He died at 101 when I was 10 — the closest thing to forever that I could imagine. Harold told me four basic truths back then. The other three were: chocolate is great but sex is better; your girl is always the prettiest; Miles Davis’ Sketches of Spain will change your life.

My sister and I grew up eating our apples all the way down, seeds and all. She even ate the stems, thought Great-Grandpa Harold would think that especially good. She died last year at age 38. I’m still getting over it, and I admit that I’ve been bitter. But lately my girl and I sit on the porch at night, listening to Miles Davis, and I think that Harold was right about most everything. I still eat my apples past the core, seeds and all, ‘cause I don’t like to think of Harold as a liar. And besides, three out of four ain’t bad.

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

7 Comments

Filed under Michelle Elvy

7 responses to “Three of Four by Michelle Elvy

  1. Barbara Lucy Hosken

    Enjoyed reading this Michelle. Don’t the old people have a great effect on us – and we as ‘old people’ on the next generation.

  2. Melissa

    I love Great-Grandpa Harold’s truths!

  3. Thank You. I’ve always eaten the entire apple, My great-grandma always insisted. Most people think it’s weird. I spent a lot of time at her house, and I think about her all the time. She had pictures of the Pope all over her house, so naturally when I was little I wanted to be the Pope and have a big pointy hat. Love this, Love this.

  4. How nicely put, man’s nature to want to believe. Well done, Michelle.

  5. Pingback: Week #43 – To the core | 52|250 A Year of Flash

  6. Oh, this is wonderful. Very old time spirit here, just so refreshing, brings back Flan and others of her ilk.

  7. lovely, believed all of it.

Leave a Reply

