End of the Line by Al McDermid

Every weekday, a sea of humanity, over 2 million strong, surges through the turnstiles at Shinjuku Eki, the busiest metro station in the world. And every weekday morning, not only do I join this morass; I must also swim against the current, entering the station as most are leaving. Thankfully, this is the worst of it. It takes me nearly two hours to reach the school where I teach, but since it’s a cross-commute, I always get a seat, at least in the morning.

Then one morning endured that crush for the last time, though at the time, I didn’t know it.

It was unseasonable warm that spring day, so the vent windows along the roof were open. My school was rather rural and despite the onslaught of suburbia, a few fields still line the tracks. As the train neared my stop, a wave of nostalgia flooded over me, triggered by the scent of freshly plowed earth. When the train pulled to a stop, I found that I could not move, that I was inexplicably glued to my seat.

When the train arrived at the terminus, I had no choice but to exit, so I walked to the connecting station, figure out which train would take me farther into the country, and boarded.

I’ll decide what to do next when I reach the end of the line.

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

6 Comments

Filed under Al McDermid

6 responses to “End of the Line by Al McDermid

  1. Very interesting, Al. I like the conflict between ability and inability, want and need.

  2. A subtle form of spring fever! I love the writing. There is much beneath the surface here.

  3. len kuntz

    reminds of springsteen, “got a wife and kids in baltimore, jack. i went out for a ride and i never came back…”

  4. guy

    When we were small my mother used to take us to the end of random train lines.

    I used to not mind going to Narita on the Keisei-sen because it was a treat to see the green. Now there isn’t much green left even out there.

  5. Ah, to just take a train to the end. you elicited the wanderlust in me. sharp writing…

  6. Pingback: Week #46 – Another world | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

