Home and the road by Dorothee Lang

It was in a coffee break between two powerpoint presentations, with her expecting nothing but the usual small talk, that they came to talk about home. How it takes a while to feel home in a new place. How sometimes, you never reach that point.

“All my childhood memories are in another place,” he said. “When I moved here, I didn’t feel at home at all. It was just the place I lived, currently. Then, one weekend, I visited a friend, and after I left, somewhere along the road, I had this feeling of driving home.”

Maybe it was the combination of the two words that triggered the memory: home and road. “Once, when travelling in India, I went on an organized desert trip,” she remembered. “In Rajasthan, that was. Two days of desert, riding on camels, camping out there. A jeep picked me and the others up at the guesthouse, to take us to the starting point. They had music playing, Take me Home, Country Roads, and Sweet home Alabama. The songs accompanied us through the desert, and in the evening, at the camp fire, we sang them again, in the middle of this huge, empty, sandy landscape: Take me home, country roads, to the place we belong. Which was right there, for that song, for that day.”

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

3 Comments

Filed under Dorothee Lang

3 responses to “Home and the road by Dorothee Lang

  1. This is lovely, Dorothee, and it brings so many different cultural themes together to weave that place called home. Nice!

  2. Love this! I felt a chill come over me at the ending. Them sitting out in that vast openess singing those songs. Had a profound impact.

  3. Pingback: Week #50 – Home sweet home | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

