Three are the Fathers by Joanne Jagoda

It hasn’t been easy growing up as a test tube baby. As soon as I was old enough to realize no dad showed up at my soccer games or was there to read me stories, I started asking questions.

“You’re extra special Billy,” my mom assured me. “I wanted you so badly that I put in the order for a handsome, tall and smart boy who likes music and sports and look what I got… perfect you”.

“But Mom,” I protested, I’m short, can’t sing and never get picked for a team. Maybe they got the order mixed up like when they put tomatoes on my burger and I hate tomatoes.”

She’d laugh, tussle my red hair and blink away tears. Even though Mom does her best as mother and father, when I turned ten, I got in my head that one day a magic genie would appear to give me three chances to find MY REAL FATHER. First I was sure he was the owner of Moran’s Super. Then I was convinced he was my pediatrician, Dr. Goldberg. But I settled on Mr. Purdy, our laughing, red-headed mailman. When he recognizes me, he’ll give me a man-hug and ask polite questions about my life. Then he’ll come to my soccer games, take me for pizza. I’ll go for a one night sleep-over at his house where I’ll meet his daughters, then spend Christmas in Hawaii, and summers together. Now if only that genie will hurry up.

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

4 Comments

Filed under Joanne Jagoda

4 responses to “Three are the Fathers by Joanne Jagoda

  1. len kuntz

    that’s a great first sentence. i think you could take this idea on as a longer piece, probably even a novel.

  2. Joanne Jagoda

    wow…thanks Len!

  3. Michelle

    This is a piece full of questions… I like how you set that up and stick with it. What a unique take on the theme, too, Joanne!

  4. Pingback: Week #52 – Threesome | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

