Union of Opposites by Matthew A. Hamilton

I was a Mormon once, but then decided to give it up and start drinking. Drinkers have all the fun, have raucous sex in the back seat of a car, smoke pot.

My first beer was a Budweiser. Not a good one to start with, but it was free, so I took it. Can’t beat a free beer, even if it does suck. After my first one I had another, then another and another and…

I woke up in the rose bushes at a friend’s house. The inside of my head felt like a lava lamp. I took an aspirin, felt better after a couple of hours, then went home.

My second beer was a Guinness. It tasted like chocolate, the first couple anyway, but I after that I don’t remember. But I do remember the back seat of my Honda Accord and Sally Harmon sitting on my face.

After beer I moved on to liquor, shots of vodka, then bourbon on the rocks. This time I woke up in the hospital, was told they had to pump my stomach. I felt like shit the whole day, but felt better when Sally came to pick me up.

Two weeks later I woke up in the hospital again. I had wires and machines jammed in my arms and chest. Sally was in the bed next to mine, but she was covered in a white sheet. I began to cry, but didn’t return to the Mormon Church. I blamed God for everything.

Return to This Week’s Flash

4 Comments

Filed under Matthew A. Hamilton

4 responses to “Union of Opposites by Matthew A. Hamilton

  1. You said so much with so little. Well done.

  2. This brings to mind the Simpsons episode where the influence of Homer turns Barney on to drink, who never looks back.

  3. Lot of power packed in this one. Good stuff. Peace…

  4. Pingback: #10 – Union of Opposites « 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

