Divine Wind by Linda Simoni-Wastila

The hose squirms in my hands, a fat serpent. Water hits concrete, whirlpools in the chasm below, and steam mixes with smoke that smells like burning tires. The wind drifts the cloud over me, over the ocean and smudges the coming night. Two days ago when authorities called for all firemen to report to the No. 3, I wanted to hide. My wife whispered, “Be a savior for Japan.”

When I drink my tea, steam caresses my face, reminding me of Misaki’s hands cradling the bowl as she places it before me. Outside I am surprised at the sky’s brilliance. I gather stones, not smooth river rocks but sharp angular ones that sparkle with mica. I build the cairn under a wild cherry tree sheltered from wind. In the yellowed photograph, my grandfather’s face calm, serious under the scarf of the rising sun tied around his forehead. He flew his ninth flight 67 spring times ago; when he returned, they shot him for failing to dive into the enemy ship with open eyes. I weight the picture with the top stone, reach for blossoms fragrant, already wilted, and lay them prostrate before the tower.

My arms ache. I think of my wife pouring tea, of my grandfather unable to fling himself to his death. I think of flowers already withered and the invisible seeds of energy falling around me, on me, swallowed by me. I think of honor. Below, steam still rises.

.

Return to This Week’s Flash

9 Comments

Filed under Linda Simoni-Wastila

9 responses to “Divine Wind by Linda Simoni-Wastila

  1. Just so poignantly lovely, Linda.

  2. Heartbreaking. Loved “the invisible seeds of energy.” Great title.

  3. len kuntz

    this was really vivid and very p0werful.

  4. Martin

    The sadness here reminds me of Owen’s “Dulce et Decorum Est”.

  5. Thank you all for reading. I wrote this with two themes in mind — ‘another world’, and ‘wilted flowers’ for another challenge. The devastation in Japan has preyed on my mind, and I wanted to honor that as well. So I used a ‘haiku’ prose form – 5-7-5 sentences – and evoked kamikaze in a more benevolent way than we generally interpret the act of self-sacrifice. Hence the title. (though I did consider banshai).

    Martin, I do not know Dulce et Decorum Est — off to find out more. thank you, and Peace…

  6. really powerful…the kamikaze/fallen flowers imagery done so well. Yes on Martin’s comment “…Pro Patria Mori”, the same flat, proud resignation…beautiful work Linda.

  7. Well, I am lost for words! Let us say, divine! I love the imagery, the story, the psychology. A gem! Thank you.

  8. Deborah A. Upton

    Hauntingly true.

  9. Pingback: Week #46 – Another world | 52|250 A Year of Flash

Leave a Reply

